Upgrade Installation

In order to upgrade from a previous version of Food Planner, you have to uninstall the old version first and then install the new version. This will delete all your data. If you want to preserve all your journal entries, favorites, custom food items and recipes, you must first make a backup of your data before uninstalling. Then you can import your data again after installing the upgrade.

Follow these steps to upgrade your current Food Planner installation while perserving all your valuable data:

  1. Make a database backup

    In the main Food Planner journal entry window, click the Tools & Utilties button and select Backup Food Planner Database from the Utilities window.

    Select a location where you want to save your backup. Make a note of this location. You will need to know this when you restore the data later.

  2. Uninstall Food Planner

    Go to the Windows Control Panel and select either Add/Remove Programs or Program and Features (depending on your version of Windows), and select to uninstall Food Planner.

  3. Download and install the latest version

    If you haven't already done so, download the latest version of Food Planner and then run the installation.

    Launch Food Planner and enter your registration code to activate it. You cannot restore from backup until you activate Food Planner.

  4. Restore your data from backup

    In the main Food Planner journal entry window, click the Tools & Utilities button and select Restore Food Planner Database from the Utilities window.

    Navigate to the same location where you saved your backup and select what you want to have restored.